Home Features User CP Facebook Twitter Google+ Youtube Support Us
Home FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Animation Forum > Production > Software Specific Subforums > Adobe Flash
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2008, 07:00 PM   #1
Bippers
Yet another newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1
Default Disolves/Fade to black in Flash

I took a course on Flash but this wasn't covered, nor can I find a tutorial on the web.

Is there any easy way to do transitions with fade outs and dissolves?

Thanks.
Bippers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 08:21 PM   #2
vicjperry
Senior Member
 
vicjperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,938
Default

Fade to black is pretty simple. Draw a black square that covers the stage. Convert it to a symbol, then add two keyframes with a tween and adjust the alpha properties on each keyframe (black square) from 0 to 100 for a fade out and the opposite for a fade in.

Scene transitions require a lot more work. Every object has to be converted to a symbol then use the above instructions to fade. You have to overlap two scenes (which is a pile of layers) to dissolve from one scene to the next. That's how I've done it anyway and I'm sure there's an easier way.

I'm sure there's some kind of action script that would make that process easier and if there is, I'd love to know where to find it?
vicjperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 09:02 PM   #3
LanceITP
Senior Member
 
LanceITP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Spring Lake Park, MN
Posts: 110
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via AIM to LanceITP Send a message via Skype™ to LanceITP
Thumbs up Yes and no

Fade out is easy. Transitions like dissolve are more difficult. One thing I can think of for making a fade to transition is to make a new scene between the transitioning scenes. Depending on if there's any action going on during the transition, make the overlapping sequences in their own animated symbol. Put the 2 symbols on 2 separate layers, and use shape tween and adjust the alpha properties, like vic stated. You may be able to do this without the new scene too.
LanceITP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 07:22 AM   #4
vicjperry
Senior Member
 
vicjperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,938
Default

Another thing I do at times is after creating the background with many layers, I just export it all and save it as a bitmap. I'll import that one image back in to flash and convert it to a symbol. It's way easier to dissolve one background image than converting every object in the background to symbols.
vicjperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Animation Forum 2005-2010